Uncategorized

Keith Haring Did Not Know How to Dance, and other notes from my students

In both my Museum Masters and Time Travelers classes, I require the children to take notes. Whether they’re in first grade or fifth, I like the idea of them taking what they find interesting in class and either writing or drawing a few notes to remember. When I first started doing this, I wondered if it would stick..if the kids would balk at the idea of writing everything down. Boy, was I wrong. I am consistently amazed by the notes these children take in class. Not just in terms of sheer volume (some of these children are quite copious note-takers!) but in terms of what they each find most interesting about the artists we study. Every child finds something different that resonates with them and to see them create those connections with great artists, to find those little moments of humanity within each of them, is truly the miracle of teaching.  I especially love the doodles and drawings that accompany some of their notes. Here’s a little sneak peek into these wonderful notebooks…and a small glimpse into the wonder and whimsy within the minds of all children.

Amedeo Modigliani: “He was very handsom”
IMG_2928
I told my students about my trip to see the Munch exhibit in New York. I’m not sure if that’s a portrait of Munch, or me waiting in the endless line to see it!
IMG_2929
Andrew Wyeth in the first person
IMG_2930
Apparently Grandma Moses’ birth year made quite an impression!
IMG_2931
Paul Klee never looked so good….especially surrounded by plants…
IMG_2932
She loved donuts. Or dounts.
IMG_2934
This may be my favorite portrait of Picasso ever. Especially because I think he has a bit of a smug look due to the fact that “he panted better than his father”
IMG_2935
A beautiful rendering of Munch’s The Storm
IMG_2936
Georgia O’Keeffe
IMG_2937
Andrew Wyeth
IMG_2938
Georgia O’Keeffe’s loves
IMG_2939
Poor Keith Haring who did not know how to dance…

 

Leave a Reply

